1. Post #1
    Michael Bay Christus
    October 2010
    7,900 Posts
    I started playing electric guitar a little over a year ago and now I am coming up with neat little riffs and solos that i would like to record. However, My amp and microphone aren't quite doing the job. I play mostly metal, some alternative and rock. and I have a crappy SG copy (although it it licensed by Gibson) but I plan on buying an epiphone when I have the money. In use with other amps my guitar doesn't sound that bad. But anyways, What gear would you recommend for me? I'm looking for inexpensive gear, but I know it probably won't be cheap and don't plan on buying immediately. any suggestions?

2. Post #2
    Gold Member
    November 2006
    2,666 Posts
    For recording, you will want to go with an audio interface with some free amp modelling software from the interwebs.

That would probably cost you under 100$ if you'll go with that.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply Finland Show Events Informative Informative x 1 (list)

3. Post #3
    Gold Member
    July 2008
    3,516 Posts
    Shure SM58 is a very versatile mic but you'd need an audio interface first. I use reaper for recording on PC, it's free software and good enough. You could get a line 6 pod, they can be pretty decent to start with and plug it into your computer from there using a jack to mini-jack
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Reply United Kingdom Show Events Informative Informative x 1 (list)

4. Post #4
    Michael Bay Christus
    October 2010
    7,900 Posts
    ....some free amp modelling software from the interwebs...
    Are there any that you'd recommend?

Edited:

Shure SM58 is a very versatile mic but you'd need an audio interface first. I use reaper for recording on PC, it's free software and good enough. You could get a line 6 pod, they can be pretty decent to start with and plug it into your computer from there using a jack to mini-jack