1. Post #2601
    "Sounds like something Stiffy would say."
    Stiffy360's Avatar
    May 2011
    3,606 Posts
    still looking for someone to fix these errors, still paying !
    Your area portals may have leaked. Check those. also, post a pic of what it looks like in-game. If it runs fine then no real need to worry.

    Oh hey page king uh...
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United States Show Events

  2. Post #2602
    I HAVE A SQUID FETISH
    IronPhoenix's Avatar
    April 2005
    8,217 Posts
    still looking for someone to fix these errors, still paying !
    Do you have entities in the map? Without entities, it wouldn't report a leak.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United Kingdom Show Events

  3. Post #2603

    September 2012
    53 Posts
    yep a few but as i said its not a leak, its a few "zero area child patch" errors, but theres no Errors in the editors error function...
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista Germany Show Events

  4. Post #2604
    Gold Member
    Ray551's Avatar
    June 2007
    2,789 Posts
    Hey Firegod, is there a place where I can view all your skyboxes you've posted in the Mapping Pimpage thread? Saw some great ones there, but I can't seem to find them anymore.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows XP Germany Show Events

  5. Post #2605
    "Sounds like something Stiffy would say."
    Stiffy360's Avatar
    May 2011
    3,606 Posts
    Hey Firegod, is there a place where I can view all your skyboxes you've posted in the Mapping Pimpage thread? Saw some great ones there, but I can't seem to find them anymore.
    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/3779442/Sky...x_list_v2.html

    Firegod, you should seriously make your own thread.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 1Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  6. Post #2606

    September 2012
    53 Posts
    upped payment for help

    looking for a Source Mapper to fix 3-4 SMALL Errors in my Mapping Project, paying a medium steam game (upto 10$)
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista Germany Show Events

  7. Post #2607
    "Sounds like something Stiffy would say."
    Stiffy360's Avatar
    May 2011
    3,606 Posts
    upped payment for help

    looking for a Source Mapper to fix 3-4 SMALL Errors in my Mapping Project, paying a medium steam game (upto 10$)
    I'll take a look if you PM me the vmf.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United States Show Events

  8. Post #2608
    ~ ♥
    zurf3r's Avatar
    June 2010
    2,107 Posts
    I could have a poke at it, dont need to get paid for something like this
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 Sweden Show Events

  9. Post #2609
    yy958's Avatar
    January 2011
    300 Posts
    While using gcf scape for the first time, I noticed all source games and mods use .ctx files for the weapons. Is it possible to import those weapons and their models to other sdks and use, for instance, CSS weapons in your Ep 2 sdk?

    EDIT:

    I believe this is the right forum because it has to do with mapping...
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events

  10. Post #2610
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    CTX files are ICE encrypted files, typically plain text weapon scripts. The models shouldn't be encrypted.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  11. Post #2611
    "Sounds like something Stiffy would say."
    Stiffy360's Avatar
    May 2011
    3,606 Posts
    @Hefferman Really nice map. and nicely detailed. I found a few of the issues. One is that you had
    $Translucent 1 in the parameters of nearly all your custom materials. This is an issue, because any brush with $translucent 1 (it has alpha like the glass) in the parameters, acts like it doesn't exist when calculating visleaves. Also, where is your skybox?

    What is npc_furniture? O.o
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United States Show Events

  12. Post #2612
    yy958's Avatar
    January 2011
    300 Posts
    CTX files are ICE encrypted files, typically plain text weapon scripts. The models shouldn't be encrypted.
    On that note, is there a way I can import weapons between source sdks?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events

  13. Post #2613
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Weapon scripts (unencrypted), models, materials, and textures can simply be copied. Weapon game code requires the source code and a mod to function. The answer depends on what exactly is to be accomplished.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  14. Post #2614
    Superwafflez's Avatar
    April 2010
    2,236 Posts
    Anyone know why this brush is not compiling as it's been edited in hammer? I moved one of it's vertex corners downward to make the driveway and it came out as a block still. Pics related.


    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 Australia Show Events

  15. Post #2615
    SHADERS
    Legend286's Avatar
    October 2008
    10,024 Posts
    Anyone know why this brush is not compiling as it's been edited in hammer? I moved one of it's vertex corners downward to make the driveway and it came out as a block still. Pics related.


    Because it's an invalid brush.

    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United Kingdom Show Events Agree Agree x 2Informative Informative x 1 (list)

  16. Post #2616
    yy958's Avatar
    January 2011
    300 Posts
    What is npc_furniture? O.o
    This might be useful. https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Npc_furniture
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events Informative Informative x 1 (list)

  17. Post #2617
    Hellohmhello's Avatar
    January 2012
    263 Posts
    How exactly do you get flares like in Episode 2? I can't seem to find anything on them.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 Australia Show Events

  18. Post #2618
    yy958's Avatar
    January 2011
    300 Posts
    How exactly do you get flares like in Episode 2? I can't seem to find anything on them.
    I'm pretty sure the flares are props.

    Edited:

    Weapon scripts (unencrypted), models, materials, and textures can simply be copied. Weapon game code requires the source code and a mod to function. The answer depends on what exactly is to be accomplished.
    I would like to be able to place CSS weapons in the Episode 2 sdk. is this possible?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events

  19. Post #2619
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Copy over the models, materials, and textures.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Useful Useful x 1Friendly Friendly x 1 (list)

  20. Post #2620
    yy958's Avatar
    January 2011
    300 Posts
    Copy over the models, materials, and textures.
    Thank you so much for the help. I don't mean to be a problem, but is there any way to be able to shoot them and use them?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 1 (list)

  21. Post #2621
    paulisdead18's Avatar
    March 2010
    1,078 Posts
    How would I got about making a moving/animated texture? I'm looking to get an effect of the texture "scrolling" without the brush actually moving.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events

  22. Post #2622
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Not without a mod using new or original source code. Although, the models might be able to replace the models of existing weapons with some difficulty.

    Use the TextureScroll proxy. Example.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 1 (list)

  23. Post #2623
    yy958's Avatar
    January 2011
    300 Posts
    Not without a mod using new or original source code. Although, the models might be able to replace the models of existing weapons with some difficulty.

    Use the TextureScroll proxy. Example.
    Do you know of a mod that can do that?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events

  24. Post #2624
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    Any mod that you can edit and compile.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 1 (list)

  25. Post #2625
    paulisdead18's Avatar
    March 2010
    1,078 Posts
    Not without a mod using new or original source code. Although, the models might be able to replace the models of existing weapons with some difficulty.

    Use the TextureScroll proxy. Example.
    Hm... So just modify the VMF file with TextureScroll?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events

  26. Post #2626
    Unbound Moderator
    Terrenteller's Avatar
    January 2007
    1,299 Posts
    VMT.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete United States Show Events

  27. Post #2627
    paulisdead18's Avatar
    March 2010
    1,078 Posts
    Oh yeah, whoops. That's what I meant to say. Thanks, I'll give it a shot.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events

  28. Post #2628
    The King Of Zing
    minilandstan's Avatar
    September 2009
    14,899 Posts
    Nobody has answered my question about why I can't use certain letters when searching for models.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United States Show Events Agree Agree x 1 (list)

  29. Post #2629
    CordlessElm's Avatar
    September 2012
    262 Posts
    Nobody has answered my question about why I can't use certain letters when searching for models.
    I have the same problem, but I read that if you use caps-lock then the H will work.
    Still nothing for the letter c though apparently.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Mac United States Show Events

  30. Post #2630
    yy958's Avatar
    January 2011
    300 Posts
    I know I sound retarded, but can someone tell me what a brush is again?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows Vista United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 2 (list)

  31. Post #2631
    CordlessElm's Avatar
    September 2012
    262 Posts
    I know I sound retarded, but can someone tell me what a brush is again?
    A brush is a convex 3D shape created with Hammer's Block Tool.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Mac United States Show Events Useful Useful x 1 (list)

  32. Post #2632
    Sad Banana's Avatar
    June 2007
    148 Posts
    Do hint brushes have to touch world geometry? Is it okay to put them in a door frame, so they touch the func_brush door frame and the floor world brush (not touching wall world brushes)?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 Estonia Show Events

  33. Post #2633
    "Sounds like something Stiffy would say."
    Stiffy360's Avatar
    May 2011
    3,606 Posts
    Do hint brushes have to touch world geometry? Is it okay to put them in a door frame, so they touch the func_brush door frame and the floor world brush (not touching wall world brushes)?
    No, but they won't be as effective if you don't know what you are doing.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United States Show Events

  34. Post #2634
    Darcy Cunting's Avatar
    September 2012
    45 Posts
    Quick one for you:

    I need a good bush texture for a map I'm working on, like the one below from RP_HomeTown1999. Would anyone be able to post a link to one? (Tried Snarkpit and Game Banana, but they didn't seem to have any)

    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United Kingdom Show Events Mapping King Mapping King x 1 (list)

  35. Post #2635
    Superwafflez's Avatar
    April 2010
    2,236 Posts
    Because it's an invalid brush.

    How would one fix this?
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 Australia Show Events Dumb Dumb x 1 (list)

  36. Post #2636
    Gold Member
    Best4bond's Avatar
    August 2008
    3,498 Posts
    Im making a physics map, Wondering what the physics models limits are, I seem to be able to do around twenty six at once before it starts to lag like hell, And how i can increase this number.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 Australia Show Events

  37. Post #2637
    Gold Member
    Firegod522's Avatar
    March 2008
    11,582 Posts
    How would one fix this?
    You have to clip the edges like he did. So it forms two triangles.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 United States Show Events Friendly Friendly x 1 (list)

  38. Post #2638
    Gold Member
    Wormy's Avatar
    July 2010
    8,158 Posts
    Does anyone know how to make good displacements? Like, a mountain cliff. I have no idea how to do it because it becomes so blocky and looks like shit.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 Sweden Show Events

  39. Post #2639
    Superwafflez's Avatar
    April 2010
    2,236 Posts
    Does anyone know how to make good displacements? Like, a mountain cliff. I have no idea how to do it because it becomes so blocky and looks like shit.
    Higher power, larger displacement/more sewed displacements.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 Australia Show Events

  40. Post #2640
    Gold Member
    Wormy's Avatar
    July 2010
    8,158 Posts
    Higher power, larger displacement/more sewed displacements.
    The highest power I can choose is 4, and even then it looks blocky.
    Reply With Quote Edit / Delete Windows 7 Sweden Show Events