1. Post #1
    August 2009
    2,713 Posts
    copied from a pdf i found
    Biddy moriarty vs Daniel o connell

Biddy Moriarty was notorious for her sharp tongue and anyone who came across her got a
    scrape of it and maybe a thump as well. She was a street trader by profession and her pitch
    was down along the quays and opposite the Four Courts. She was famous from one end of the
    city to the other for her powers of vituperation. She is said to have enriched the already
    substantial lexicon of Dublin slang, and even in the provinces, her name was known because
    her fame had spread far and wide.
    O'Connell was a young man at the time and up to all sorts of devilment when the subject of
    Biddy came up. Some of his friends said that he was a match for her while others ridiculed the
    notion. This only served to spur O'Connell on and he decided to tackle the woman. Bets were
    made and O'Connell backed himself because he was confidant that he could come up with a
    plan to defeat the fearful virago of the city quays.
    And so, accompanied by his companions, he made his way to Biddy's stall and straightway
    O'Connell put his plan into action; he had resolved to surprise the woman by going on the
    attack. Is is doubtful that anyone has ever taken the fight to Biddy in this way, reasoned
    O'Connell, and such audacity as this might just catch her out. People usually avoided a verbal
    encounter with Biddy if they could and here was O'Connell, not only spoiling for a fight but
    planning to go out of his way to incite one.
    "What's the price of this walking-stick, Mrs. What's your name?"
    Straightway he provoked her for there wasn't a person in Dublin who didn't know who Biddy
    was.
    "Moriarty, sir, is my name, and a good one it is; and what have you to say agen it? And
    one-and-sixpence is the price of the stick. Troth*, it's chape as dirt, so it is."