1. Post #1
    Gold Member
    January 2011
    29,547 Posts
    Right, this is how we're gonna do this.

I know there are a few nuts like me who'd like to dig into this stuff. I do know that there are plenty of people here who know their stuff when it comes to these periods.

As for me, I'm a noob and know nothing. :smug:

Also MODERN CLASSICAL and Contemporary styles that are directly influenced by these periods count.

[release]
    [h2]PERIODS:
    Medieval - (500–1400)[/h2]

Medieval music is European music written during the Middle Ages. This era begins with the fall of the Roman Empire and ends in approximately the early fifteenth century. Establishing the end of the medieval era and the beginning of the Renaissance is difficult; the usage in this article is the one usually adopted by musicologists.

As I'm aware, this is basically the era of mainly GREGORIAN CHANTS and PLAINSONG.

[h2]Renaissance - (1400–1600)[/h2]

Renaissance music is European music written during the Renaissance. Defining the beginning of the musical era is difficult, given the gradually adopted "Renaissance" characteristics: musicologists have placed its beginnings from as early as 1300 to as late as the 1470s.

The only names I recognize from this era are "Giovanni Gabrieli" and "William Byrd"

[h2]Baroque - (1600–1760)[/h2]